Instruments

The proposed ASO-S mission has three payloads onboard, i.e., the Full-disk Vector MagnetoGraph, the Lyman-alpha Solar Telescope and the Hard X-ray Imager.


Full-Disc Vector Magnetograph (FMG)
business

The Full-disk vector MagnetoGraph (FMG) measures the magnetic fields of the photosphere over the entire solar disk. FMG consists of an imaging optical system, a polarization optical system, and a image acquisition and processing system. The telescope is a telecentric optical design with 140 mm aperture, and the detector is a CMOS camera with 4k by 4k array and 16 fps. The polarization optical system consists of a traditional Lyot-type birefringent and innovational LCVR-type polarimeter. The birefringent filter works in the Fraunhofer line Fe I 532.4 nm with FWHM 0.011 nm.

In order to get higher accuracy, FMG uses multi-frame add mode (deep-integration mode). In normal mode of observation, 256 frames (half for left and half for right) will be collected for one magnetogram. That means within 32s (for obtaining 256 frames) the pointing should be stabilized at least within half pixel, say 0.25". Thus, FMG has itself tip/tilt system. In deep-integration mode, the sensitivities are 5G and 150G for longitudinal and transverse component, respectively.

Compared with the Hinode/SP, a famous payload for the measurement of solar magnetic field, FMG has a much larger field of view and higher time cadence. Comparing to the magnetographs onboard SDO/HMI and SOHO/MDI, FMG has a simpler observation mode and a higher measurement precision.


Lyman-alpha Solar Telescope (LST)
business

The Lyman-alpha Solar Telescope (LST) is composed of a Solar Disk Imager (SDI) with an aperture of 60 mm, a Solar Corona Imager (SCI) also with an aperture of 60 mm, a White-light Solar Telescope (WST) with an aperture of 130mm, and two Guide Telescopes (GTs).

The SDI is to image the Sun from the disk center to 1.2 solar radii in the Lyman–alpha waveband (121.6±4.5 nm) with a cadence of 4 – 40 s. The SDI uses a 4608 by 4608 camera as the detector so as to guarantee the resolution of 1.2". A piezoelectric image stabilization system is adopted for both the SDI and the SCI to achieve the high spatial resolution.

The SCI uses a 2048 by 2048 camera to image the inner solar corona from 1.1 to 2.5 solar radii with a cadence of 3 – 60 s in both the Lyman-alpha waveband (122.6±3 nm) and white-light (700±32 nm). A beam-splitter divides the coming coronal light into two beams: the reflected beam feeds the Lyman-alpha channel while the transmitted beam feeds the white-light channel. The Lyman-alpha channel consists of a Lyman-alpha filter and a detector; the white-light channel consists of a broadband filter centered at 700 nm, linear polarizers and a detector. Three linear polarizer orientations (0, ±60°) are used to conduct the polarization measurement in the white-light waveband.

The WST is designed to image the Sun in violet narrow-band continuum (360±2.0 nm) from the disk center to 1.2 solar radii with a cadence of 1 – 120 s (it can be as high as 0.2 s in the burst mode). A 4608 by 4608 CMOS sensor is selected to be the detector, which allows a windowed observation mode with higher time cadence in the burst mode.

The guide telescopes work in 570 nm waveband. To guide, quadrant photodiode detectors are used to monitor the solar limb, calculate the displacement and produce the guiding signal, which is converted to triggering signals to the PZT actuators installed behind the main mirrors of both SCI and SDI. The GTs together with the PZT actuators and relevant electronics forms the image stabilizing system.


Hard X-ray Imager(HXI)
business

The Hard X-ray Imager (HXI) aims to image solar flares in hard X-rays from ~30-200 keV with an angular resolution of 3.2 arcseconds, field of view of 40 arcminutes, energy resolution (24% @ 32 keV), high time cadence (as high as 0.125 s). HXI adopts the similar principle used by the Hard X-ray Telescope (HXT) onboard the Japanese YOHKOH satellite and the Spectrometer Telescope for Imaging X-rays (STIX) for the Solar Orbiter mission, i.e., using indirect imaging technique via spatial modulation. This is different from the Reuven Ramaty High Energy Solar Spectroscopic Imager (RHESSI) that images the Sun with the indirect imaging technique via rotational modulation.

HXI is a high-precision imaging instrument. We made in total over 3400 slices of tungsten grid layers, which are stacked to produce 91 pairs of tungsten grids. These grids are installed in the front and rear base boards at the ends of the 1.2-meter-long collimator, forming 91 subcollimators. The HXR signals through them are recorded by 91 detectors behind and used to reconstruct images on the ground by several imaging algorithms. Besides, there are three detectors that monitor total fluxes, and another five that monitor the background fluxes. The detector array contains 99 LaBr3 detectors.

A solar aspect system is implemented with HXI to monitor the Sun in white-light, which provides pointing information of HXI with an accuracy of <1 arcsec and locates eruptions on the Sun. The data is also used to correct blurry image caused by the pointing changes. Meanwhile, the SAS also monitors the deformation of the base boards at a level of microns and the relative twist at a level of arcseconds.



Email:aso-s@pmo.ac.cn

有效载荷

先进天基太阳天文台上配置了三台有效载荷,分别为:全日面矢量磁像仪、莱曼阿尔法太阳望远镜和太阳硬X射线成像仪。


全日面矢量磁像仪(FMG)
business

全日面矢量磁像仪(FMG)用于开展太阳光球矢量磁场的成像观测。全日面矢量磁像仪由成像光学系统、偏振光学系统、数据采集与处理系统三大功能块组成。其望远镜采用口径140mm的远心光路设计;探测器采用4K×4K像元、帧频16 fps的CMOS相机;偏振光学系统由经典的里奥(Lyot)型双折射滤光器和液晶型偏振分析器系统组成,滤光器工作在Fe I 532.4 nm 谱线,透过带宽(FWHM)为0.011 nm。

为了获得足够高的测量精度,拟采用“深积分”观测方式提高灵敏度,在常规观测模式下,单磁场分量观测由128×2帧图像完成,一组矢量磁图用时2分钟。在深积分模式下,纵向分量灵敏度5G,横向分量精度150G,用时约18分钟。在一个分量观测中要求图像稳定度优于0.25角秒,但由于卫星平台无法满足这一图像稳定度要求,全日面矢量磁像仪将自带稳像系统。

全日面矢量磁像仪基于双折射滤光器而成。由于斯托克斯(Stokes)参数仪不能实时成像,采用类似于Hinode/SP的观测系统对于太阳活动现象的跟踪和预报研究是非常不利的,相比较而言,全日面矢量磁像仪具有更高的观测效率和时间分辨率,更契合先进天基太阳天文台的科学需求。而相较于SDO/HMI和SOHO/MDI,全日面矢量磁像仪设备相对简化,观测模式简单,磁场测量精度更高。


莱曼阿尔法太阳望远镜 (LST)
business

莱曼阿尔法太阳望远镜包含三台仪器,即一台口径68毫米莱曼阿尔法全日面成像仪(SDI)、一台口径60毫米的日冕仪(SCI)、一台口径130毫米的白光全日面望远镜(WST)和两台导行镜(GT)。

莱曼阿尔法全日面成像仪在莱曼阿尔法波段(121.6±4.5 nm)以4-40秒的时间间隔对太阳从日面中心到1.2个太阳半径进行成像观测。莱曼阿尔法全日面成像仪使用4608×4608像元的探测器以获得约1.2角秒的空间分辨率。同时,莱曼阿尔法全日面成像仪和日冕仪都将通过压电陶瓷驱动稳像系统来实现太阳的稳定以满足高分辨率成像观测的要求。

日冕仪使用2048×2048像元的探测器对1.1 – 2.5个太阳半径的内日冕以3-60秒的时间间隔在莱曼阿尔法波段(122.6±3 nm)进行成像观测并在白光波段(700±32 nm)进行偏振亮度观测。在日冕仪光路中加入分光镜,将入射的日冕光分成透射和反射两部分。反射部分经过莱曼阿尔法滤光片后成像在莱曼阿尔法波段探测器;透射部分在经过宽带滤光片、线偏振片后成像在白光波段探测器上,在0°及±60°三个方向进行日冕偏振亮度测量。

白光望远镜采用4608×4608像元的CMOS探测器在通常模式下以1-120秒的时间间隔对太阳从日面中心到1.2个太阳半径进行紫外连续谱(360±2.0 nm)成像观测,在快速的爆发事件模式下通过开窗输出的方式使时间间隔小于0.2秒。白光望远镜的成像观测的空间分辨率与莱曼阿尔法全日面成像仪相同。

导行镜工作波长为570 nm,通过四象限光电二极管对太阳边缘进行探测,实时计算太阳边缘的偏移量并将偏移量转化成导行信号。导行信号最终转化成驱动信号驱动安装在莱曼阿尔法全日面成像仪和日冕仪主镜后面的压电陶瓷晶体实现太阳像的稳定。


太阳硬X射线成像仪(HXI)
business

硬X射线成像仪以太阳耀斑为主要观测目标,在30 – 200 keV的硬X射线以优于0.5秒的时间分辨率(最高0.125秒)对全日面进行高分辨率成像观测。HXI的视场为40角分,能量分辨率约为24%@32keV,空间分辨率为3.2角秒。因平台有多个光学载荷,HXI采用与日本阳光(YOHKOH)卫星上的硬X射线望远镜(HXT)和太阳轨道探测器(Solar Orbiter)上X射线成像光谱望远镜(STIX)相似的空间调制间接成像技术。这不同于美国RHESSI卫星所用的旋转调制间接成像技术,但同属于调制类间接成像。

HXI是一套高精密的成像设备,共加工了超过3400片的钨光栅薄片,胶叠为10种不同节距的91对钨光栅,节距从36微米至1224微米。这些光栅安装在1.2米长度准直器两端的基板上,构成了91个调制子准直器,通过它们的硬X射线信号由后面对应的91个探测器记录,并在地面通过算法反演成图像。此外,还有3个测量总流量的探测器和5个测量背景的探测器。整个探测器阵列共有99个溴化镧探测器。

HXI还自带太阳指向镜系统,它在白光波段对太阳进行监视并提供太阳爆发的位置信息和太阳硬X射线成像仪的指向信息,指向精度优于1角秒,可用于修复抖动造成的图像模糊。同时,它还可以实时监测前后基板的微米级形变和角秒级扭转。



联系方式:aso-s@pmo.ac.cn